What's new

Have you self-taught yourself anything dealing with software?

WebKitty

Up-and-Coming Sensation
100 Posts Club
Jan 8, 2022
USD
$0.0000USD
Biznotes
In terms of developing software, have you taught yourself anything using tools and knowledge you found online?

Most of what I have learned about servers and web development has come from picking things up online. I self-taught myself with Linux as well.

In regard to web development, I seriously haven't read any books. It's all hands-on stuff. It came about from messing around with the stuff.

Also, I have played around with digital art and music notation software. Again, it's all hands-on learning.

I find it is better to learn things hands-on than to actually go to school with it. I mean anyone in development will tell you to have some background knowledge goes a long way. It is senseless to get higher education with no prior knowledge.

@WebKitty which version of Linux are you using because there are almalinux or kally linux or ubuntu or opensuse and there is a little difference like for ubuntu you install from apt get while for almalinux or rocky linux you install from dnf.

@WebKitty which version of Linux are you using because there are almalinux or kally linux or ubuntu or opensuse and there is a little difference like for ubuntu you install from apt get while for almalinux or rocky linux you install from dnf.
I was using Mint but switched to Fedora 34 Cinnamon. I only ran Unbuntu once on my laptop and didn't care for it, I have Mint on there now.

I self taught myself to design websites, especially wordpress websites. I created my first self hosted website by reading and watching tutorials online. When I started I had zero knowledge and in 6 months, I was running multiple wordpress websites, including blogs, forums, online stores, and ecommerce sites.